I recently had the opportunity to chat with Mary-Ellen Rood about Strategic Futuring. Mary-Ellen has been using and observing the use of Strategic Futuring for over 20 year from the time her husband first developed the process for a Graduate class at Azusa Pacific University.

If you read the Strategic Possibilities Newsletter-September Edition you’ve already “met” Mary-Ellen. (if you haven’t received the newsletter, check out the Newsletter Archive link above to see the entire issue)

The following is Mary-Ellen’s “stream of conscious notes” from our phone conversation.

A: You’ve been using/observing Strategic Futuring since Ray developed it 20+ years ago: What do you see as the value of the process?

  • SF engages the whole person (body, mind, spirit).
  • Requires use of responsive, proactive, inventive thinking / decisions; leads to a sense of personal-life empowerment.
  • Requires reflection for the clarification of values and the identification of one’s life purpose.
  • Moves one’s thinking about his / her life beyond the present to consider possibilities previously not considered or thought possible.
  • Requires active engagement in planning for one’s future vision (i.e. setting goals, seeking support, and accountability).
  • Utilizes the power of the unconscious mind to move toward a desired outcome.
  • When treated as fact, SF gives substance to hope, direction to decisions, and shapes behavior.
  • Changes how one views oneself giving new meaning the concept of “unlimited possibilities.”

A: What do you believe is the value/importance for women especially in this process?

  • Expands the sense of one’s capacity / capabilities beyond current circumstances, roles, responsibilities; provides the opportunity to see oneself in a new / different light
  • Strengthens self-esteem, confidence and a sense of centeredness and positive self worth.

A: My Strategic Futuring Work is focused and directed towards women in their 20’s and 30’s, As you know, part of the process is to ask women what questions they have about their lives 15 years in the future.

  • As you think about that season of your life, what are 5 questions that you did, or wish you would have asked yourself-given what you know now?
  • Who am I? What is my purpose in life and what do I need to do to fulfill my purpose?
  • What are my core values?
  • What is my vision for my life? (What do I want my life to look like / be like in my 30’, 40’s, 50’s, 60’s etc.?)
  • What knowledge, skills, resources do / will I need to achieve my purpose / goals / vision?
  • How can I maximize who I am in the achievement of my life goals / purpose?

❧ Don’t forget to subscribe, using the “subscribe button” on the right of this blog so you don’t miss out on any new content!  We’re starting a new series on “roles” inspired by this interview with Mary Ellen.

